Speed Skaters prep for upcoming BC Winter Games at skate-a-thon

first_imgThe West Kootenay Speed Skating Club held its annual 5000 meter skate-a-thon recently at the NDCC Arena.June Platje finished first with a time of 17:20.97 to capture the first group race with Charlie Ludwar second with a time of 18:48.40.In the L2T group Luke Platje, finished first with a time of 13:35.77, Tristan Phillips finished second with a time of 14:54.25, Oliver Ludwar third hird with a time of 15:15.26. Dylan Boyes finished fourth with a time of 16:35.00. Berend Platje won T2T group in a time of 9:51.01 with Mercedes Phillips second at 13:35.01 and Ian Walgren third at 15:01.06.Cameron Boyes was fourth a time of 15:02.62. In the Masters group Peter Plaunt of Rossland finished first with a time of 12:33.90. All of the skaters would like to thank the many people, family and friends who sponsored them for this 5000 m / 50 lap event. We wish all the best for Berend Platje and Mercedes Phillips Kamloops this weekend at the BC Winter Games.last_img